Guides: European Union Research Guide: National Transposition Measures

Finding NTM Citations

Application of EU Law
Information regarding implementation of EU laws by member countries and legal cooperation between EU governments.
EUR-Lex: National Transposition Measures
Use the instructions at this link to find National Implementing Legislation on the EUR-Lex website.
Europa: Summaries of EU Legislation
Provides a summary of the main legislative measures and procedures for each of the activities of the European Union, and may also include citations to national implementing legislation.
European Union Legislation: Preparatory Acts

European Current Law
Call Number: Smith KJC30 .E97x
Publication Date: 1992-2018
Contains subject indexes of regulations and directives. Consists of the European Current Law Monthly Digest, which is consolidated annually as the European Current Law Yearbook.
Commercial Laws of Europe
Call Number: Smith KJC 2044.3 .C66
Publication Date: 1998-present
Provides recently adopted legislation by topic and by directive number.
European Communities Legislation: Current Status
Call Number: Ref Coll KJE 915 .E97x
Publication Date: 1988-2001
Subject-indexed. Use to convert non-OJ cites to OJ cites. Covers legislation from 1952-2001. In this work, under each year, regulations are listed first, followed by directives, etc.

Finding NTM Text

Finding the text of National Implementing Legislation is a two-step process in and of itself.

Identify where Member nations collect their official laws and legislation (e.g., the name of the foreign official gazette).
Identify whether these collections are in print in the Law Library, on an official government webpage, or available elsewhere.

Identifying Legislative Sources by Name

Check the following sources for titles of collections of national laws and legislation for Member countries.

Foreign Law Guide
Also known as Reynolds & Flores; includes information about the legal structure of a country, as well as bibliographic information and links to internet sources for foreign laws.
GlobaLex
Electronic legal publication dedicated to international and foreign law research. Includes extensive research guides on international and comparative law topics, as well as particular jurisdictions' legal systems.
Modern Legal Systems Cyclopedia
Published 1984-2005.
A country chapter usually contains information about that country’s government, political and legal history, constitutional law, legal system, organization of the judiciary, legal education, legal profession, criminal, civil, and family law, international law and international relations, and concludes with a bibliography of additional sources to consult.

Locating Legislative Sources

The EU has developed N-Lex as a single portal to all Member nation's implementing legislation. It is still in its experimental stages, so not every Member's links work.

N-Lex
A common access portal for sources of national law has been developed by the Office for Official Publications of the European Communities in conjunction with the Member States of the European Union. It allows users to search national sites using a single uniform search template.

Consult the Law Library Catalog to determine if we hold the source in print or electronically.

Law Library Catalog

Another resource for finding a nation's official legislative webpage is the Law Library's E-Resources page.

Law Library E-Resources by Jurisdiction

For more information about researching foreign law, see this Foreign, Comparative, and International Law research guide: libguides.law.umich.edu/fcil.