Guides: Law Library Services for Journals: E-Resources

News Sources

The University of Michigan's Central Student Government offers subscriptions to the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal FOR FREE to all U-M students.

See their News Subscriptions page for details on how to sign up, as well as instructions for how to access other online news sources through the University Library.

Electronic Resources

The Law Library provides access to hundreds of electronic resources. The other boxes on this page list the resources that our Reference Librarians find most useful for Journal staff; for all electronic resources, please click the link below.

All E-Resources

General Legal Resources

Find an Electronic Article
Enter your citation in the search form to find out if the University of Michigan has access to an electronic copy of the journal or article.
HeinOnline
- This link opens in a new window
Find PDF documents in a number of research areas, including: Law Reviews/Journals; State session laws; Congressional materials; U.S. Code; Code of Federal Regulations; Federal Register; U.S. Reports; Treaties; English Reports; United Nations documents; and much more.
LegalTrac
Indexes more than 1.5 million articles in major law reviews, law journals and legal newspapers. Includes European Union law.
ProQuest Congressional
Contains full text of Congressional documents including Senate and House reports, hearings, and committee prints.
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books & Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective
Indexes articles from hundreds of legal publications, excellent for finding citations to articles by subject/topic/title/author.

International & Foreign Resources

Foreign Law Guide
Also known as Reynolds & Flores; includes information about the legal structure of a country, as well as bibliographic information and links to internet sources for foreign laws.
United Nations Official Documents
Includes full-text access to documents of various bodies of the UN including the General Assembly, Security Council and the Economic and Social Council. Documents include resolutions, reports, meeting records, and more.
EUR-Lex
L & C Series began publication in 1968 and are now published daily in 20 languages. The documents included in the C Series are partly published in electronic-only format and are numbered as the C-E Series.

Non-Legal Resources

Various Library Catalogs
In addition to the resources available in our library, search other library catalogs for specific books, journals or other resources.
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest research library indexes more than 2000 general interest and academic periodicals in all fields, and provides full text access to many of them. Indexing coverage begins about 1970.
Proquest Historical Newspapers
Complete full-text backfiles of thirteen U.S. and seven international newspapers.
JSTOR
full text access to hundreds of social science and natural science periodicals, including law journals.
Social Science Citation Index
provides citations to hundreds of social science articles by subject, topic, author or title. Can also be used to trace how often an article is cited.