Guides: Michigan Legal Research: Judicial Resources

Case Law

Case decisions from Michigan lower, appellate, and supreme courts are available in print in the Law Library and online in commercial databases, government websites, and free third-party sites.

West's Michigan Digest 2d
Call Number: Smith KFM4257 .W47 1989
Publication Date: 1989-2020
Indexes Michigan state and federal court opinions 1932-2020; continues Michigan Digest. Seek electronic access for later materials.
West's North Western Reporter, 2d Series
Call Number: Smith KF135 .N7 N62
Publication Date: 1942-2011
Regional reporter, including case law from Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin. Opinions from the Michigan Supreme Court and the Michigan Court of Appeals.

Michigan Courts: Cases, Opinions & Orders
Michigan Courts website. Includes opinions from the Michigan Supreme Court and the Court of Appeals.
All Michigan Federal & State Cases, Combined
Michigan State & Federal Cases
Nexis Uni
Cases, statutes, and some law journals.
Google Scholar
U.S. Supreme Court decisions 1791-date.
more...less...
Primary law: Also includes published opinions of US state appellate and supreme court cases since 1950, US federal district, appellate, tax and bankruptcy courts since 1923.
Secondary sources: Includes journal and conference papers, theses and dissertations, academic books, pre-prints, abstracts, technical reports and other scholarly literature from all broad areas of research.
Includes citations for cases cited by indexed opinions or journal articles.
Justia: Michigan Case Law

Court Rules

Michigan Court Rules
The Michigan Court's website has up-to-date local rules and administrative orders.
ICLE: Court Rules of Michigan Annotated
Must be logged in to access through link.

Michigan Court Rules Practice
Call Number: Electronic (restricted to MLaw community)
Publication Date: Annual Update
Includes MCR Text, Forms, and Evidence.
The text of all rules is followed by commentary prepared by the Michigan Supreme Court staff as well as commentary prepared by the Authors. Forms consist of pre-approved, court-ready forms with adaptable forms for use in civil practice.
Michigan Court Rules Practice: Text (6th) by Ronald S. Longhofer
Call Number: Smith KFM 4729 .A2 2012x
Publication Date: Annual Update
6 vol.
Michigan Court Rules Practice: Forms (3d) by Ronald S. Longhofer
Call Number: Smith KFM4730.A65 D43 2013x and Electronic (restricted to MLaw community)
Publication Date: Annual Update
Michigan Court Rules Practice: Evidence (3d) by James K. Robinson & Ronald S. Longhofer
Call Number: Smith KFM4740 .A4 2009x
Publication Date: Annual Update
4th edition forthcoming here.

Jury Instructions

Civil

Michigan Model Civil Jury Instructions
Call Number: Smith KFM4742.6 .A65 M5313x 2015 and Electronic
Publication Date: Annual Update
2 vol.
Michigan Nonstandard Jury Instructions - Civil
Call Number: Smith KFM4742.6 .M532x
Publication Date: Annual Update

Criminal

Michigan Model Criminal Jury Instructions by Institute of Continuing Legal Education
Call Number: Smith KFM 4783 .M525x and Electronic (restricted to MLaw community)
Publication Date: Annual Update
Michigan Nonstandard Jury Instructions. Criminal.
Call Number: Smith KFM4783 .M5362x
Publication Date: Annual Update

Dockets

Case Search
Michigan Courts website, search by docket number to find docket sheets.