Entrepreneurship Clinic Resources: Trademarks

Searchable database of resources. Practice areas available include Patent Counseling & Transactions, Trademarks, Trade Secrets, IP and IT in Corporate Transactions. Materials include:

Covers different areas of IP practice and many types of practice materials, including Trademarks and Trade Secrets:

The official manual used by trademark examiners, this manual provides a useful resource for practitioners to determine how the USPTO will evaluate a TM application, such as important factors and weight of evidence for each mark.

Resources on the USPTO's site include explanatory documents and tutorial videos demonstrating how to use the official trademark application system, known as TEAS.

USPTO's official database of federally registered trademarks. This database allows users to search by word mark or design, browse a dictionary of acceptable search terms, and search the Official Gazette.

USPTO's database of assigned TMs. Search assignor/assignee name, registration numbers etc.

USPTO's own guide to conducting a thorough TM search.
-Allows for more detailed and advanced searches
-Lays out all resources needed
-Keep in mind dates provided (if need an earlier mark)

Searchable database of Michigan-registered TMs.

Michigan's state registry of trademarks, not searchable but listed in alphabetical order.

Published once per week. Contains bibliographic information and drawings of each trademark registered with the USPTO that week. ALSO lists cancelled and renewed registrations.