Guides: Entrepreneurship Clinic Resources: Delaware Corporations

DE Corporations: Resources

Statutory Law

Delaware Code, Title 8
Known as the General Corporation Law (GCL), Title 8 covers corporations and governance. This title can be accessed on the DE Secretary of State website. Also available through Westlaw and Lexis Advance.
Delaware Code, Title 6
Subtitle II, Chapters 16-19 cover other corporate and business entitites such as LLCs and LLPs. Chapter 20 covers trade secrets.
DE Corporation and Business Entity Laws (Compiled)
Compiled sections of all sections of the DE Code that relate to corporations and business entities. Available from the DE Secretary of State website.
Delaware Statutes & Court Rules (Westlaw)
Delaware Code Annotated (Lexis Advance)

Case Law

DE Entity Search
The DE Secretary of State website hosts a searchable database of all registered business entities in the State.
-Search by entity name
-Results include both active and inactive entities
-Enhanced results which include status, tax, and history information available for a fee

Forms

*Also see Treatises and Practice Guides below for additional forms.

Corporate and M&A Standard Documents
Part of Westlaw's PRACTICAL LAW suite, standard documents are created by practitioners in the field and are periodically updated and improved by experts. Can refine results by type and jurisdiction.
Delaware Corporate Forms Library
Searchable list of standard forms, organized by domestic or foreign incorporation. Somewhat limited in choice compared to Westlaw.
Lexis Practice Advisor: Corporate and M&A Forms
Expanded forms, searchable listings, ability to refine to jurisdiction and type.
Corporate and UCC Forms And Certificates (DE Division of Corporations)
DE Secretary of State provided forms. Arranged by entity or document type.

Treatises

Delaware Law of Corporations and Business Organizations (3d) by Balotti & Finkelstein
Call Number: Electronic (restricted to MLaw community)
Publication Date: Annual Update
Folk on the Delaware General Corporation Law (7th) by Robert S. Saunders, et al.
Call Number: Smith KFD 213 .F59315x
Publication Date: Updated Three Times Annually
4 vol.

Practice Guides

Delaware Corporation Law and Practice by David A. Drexler et al.
Call Number: Electronic (restricted to MLaw community)
Publication Date: Annual Update
Analysis of case law and GCL statutes by section, step-by-step discussion of corporation formation, internal governance, power and duties of shareholders, directors, officers, agents and employees
Corporate and Commercial Practice in the Delaware Court of Chancery by Wolfe & Pittenger
Call Number: Electronic (restricted to MLaw community)
Publication Date: Annual Update
Takes readers through every step of litigation through the DE Court of Chancery, including explanations of processes and terms, subject matter, fees and costs, discovery, multiple jurisdictional issues, filings and more.

Cheetah by Wolters Kluwer provides various tools for researching corporate governance.

Under Practice Areas select Securities - Corporation Law & Governance.
- Find Corporate Governance titles in the Content box.
- Find Corporation Law Comparison Charts in the Practice Tools box.
  - Explore the differences among states under the topic Corporation Formation.

Corporate Governance Library (CCH)
Wolters Kluwer Corporate Governance Library is searchable through Westlaw.

Rules of the Delaware State Courts
PDFs of all rules, organized by Court (scroll to Chancery). Also lists most recent amendments.

Corporate Governance Guide Newsletter
A companion to the Corporate Governance Guide, this newsletter supplements regular monthly reporting with updates on a broad range of topics: recent Delaware court decisions, SEC rulemaking and enforcement, state and federal legislative developments, accounting issues, and international news.
Corporate Governance Guide (CCH)
The CCH Corporate Governance Guide offers detailed discussion and analysis of a wide range of corporate governance topics, including: boards of directors, executive compensation, proxies, meetings and elections, fiduciary duties, periodic reports, individual liabilities, insider transactions, SEC practice and enforcement, mergers and acquisitions, and international considerations.
more...less...
Additionally, the Guide has state business law summaries for all 50 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, organized by topic and state to facilitate comparison of the law across multiple jurisdictions.
Chancery Daily (Short or Long Form and Transactional)
Subscriber newsletter summarizing daily proceedings of litigation in the DE Chancery Court.
Free trial, then paid subscription required.
Free mailing list

Delaware Business Court Insider
News and current developments in DE corporation law, updated several times per week.