Guides: Entrepreneurship Clinic Resources: Michigan LLCs

Michigan LLC Resources

Statutory & Regulatory Law

Michigan Administrative Code
Call Number: Smith KFM4235 1979 .A26 1999x and Electronic

Publication Date: 1999-
Michigan Register
Call Number: Smith KFM4236 .M53x 1984 and Electronic

Publication Date: 1984-

Corporations Division - Limited Liability Companies (LARA)
MI Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs website. Resources include:

more... less...

- Michigan Limited Liability Company Act (LLCA), 193 PA, MCL 450.4101 et seq.
- LLC Forms (e.g. Certificate of Merger, Filing information etc.)
- Guidance on filing requirements
- Business Entity Search
Corporations Division - Securities (LARA)
Michigan's LARA department hosts a page related to Securities resources within the Corporations Division page. Resources include:

more... less...

- Acts, orders and rules (including the Michigan Uniform Securities Act)
- Information on filing SEC and CSCL complaints
- Small Business Capital Formation Options in Michigan
- Disciplinary Action Reports
- Webinars about investing and raising capital

Case Law

Michigan State Cases
Standard search for all cases from the Michigan Supreme Court and Court of Appeals.

Business Entity Search
Look up Michigan incorporated businesses and entities with this LARA created database.

Michigan Limited Liability Companies by Institute of Continuing Legal Education
Call Number: Smith KFM 4407.5 .C3613x and Electronic

2011-present. See Chapter 2, LLCs. Book is available online in a searchable format, as well as in print in the Law Library.
Michigan Corporation Law by Charles W. Borgsdorf et al.
Call Number: Electronic (restricted to MLaw community)

Publication Date: Annual Update

Covers major topics in forming, operating and dissolving corporation in Michigan. Provides guidance on search topic and includes citations to relevant law. Chapter 18A deals exclusively with LLCs.
Employment Law for Michigan Employers (3d) by Institute of Continuing Legal Education
Call Number: Smith KFM 4534 .E4814x and Electronic

Publication Date: Annual Update

Includes forms and exhibits. Also available as an online, searchable book at ICLE.
Michigan Contract Law by John R. Trentacosta
Call Number: Smith KFM4350 .M5312 2013x 2013 and Electronic

Publication Date: 2019

Practical Law: Michigan Corporate and M&A
Practice forms, checklists and guidance. Materials include:

more... less...

- Standard documents
- Practice notes written by expert practitioners
- Standard clauses
- Checklists
- State Q&As

Michigan Business Formbook (3d) by Institute of Continuing Legal Education
Call Number: Smith KFM4352.A65 M5313x and Electronic

Publication Date: Biannual Update

2 vol.
Michigan Corporate Forms (2001 ed.) by Charles W. Borgsdorf
Call Number: Smith KFM4413.A65 B6712x and Electronic (restricted to MLaw community)

Publication Date: Updated Twice Annually

The Michigan Business Law Journal (SBM)
A publication of the State Bar of Michigan, The Michigan Business Law Journal provides both scholarly and practical analysis and commentary on corporate and transactional business law issues in Michigan.