Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Law School Home

Finding and Retrieving Materials on Campus: E-Books

COVID-19 Note: Due to the current public health crisis, building access, book delivery, and loan rules are all subject to changes. Please see the Law Library website and the University Library website for current information.

Finding E-Books

Law Library

  • In the MLaw Catalog Advanced Search, limit the Location to "Web." Results will be limited to those available online. 
  • On the Law Library's E-Resources page, under Browse E-Resources by... select E-Book Collections to find the full list of available collections of e-books.
    • Not every e-book in every collection will have an individual record in the Catalog.
    • Search relevant E-Book Collections to find books on a particular topic or to see if a known title is included.
  • Search for online books by title using this E-Books finding tool.

Other Campus Libraries

  • Find collections of E-Books on the U-M Library site using U-M Library Database Search.
    • On the Databases search tab, select the Advanced Search option. Under Database type, select E-Book(s).
    • Click Search and U-M Library Database Search will automatically show every database that provides access to e-books. Narrow it down to more relevant results by adding search terms, selecting a subject, or including other limiters.
  • To find a particular title or subject as an e-book, first conduct a regular or advanced search for the title/subject in U-M Library Catalog Search.
    • Limit to e-books using filters in the sidebar. Under Subject select Electronic Books.
    • Note: "Format" in the sidebar does not refer to electronic/print books, but to the content.
  • Use MGet It Citation Linker to Go Directly to a Book Chapter
    • Enter as much citation information as you have into the various fields.
    • MGet It will link you directly to book chapters that are available as e-books through electronic resources.

Kresge Library Services

  • On the Kresge Resources page, click eBooks to find databases with e-books relevant to the business school.

Some Useful E-Book Databases

Through the Law Library:

  • West Study Aids. Over 500 titles from West, Foundation, and Gilbert publishers, including Hornbooks, Nutshells, Gilbert Law Summaries, Black Letter, and Law Stories. Access limited to MLaw community.
  • Oxford Reference Library: Law. Fully indexed, cross-searchable database of dictionaries, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press on the subject of Law.

Through the U-M Library:

  • ProQuest eBook Central. E-books in law, science, and social science.
  • Project MUSE.  A leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content from leading university presses and scholarly societies. Supports a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library. Provides online access to the complete full text of over 100 reference works.
  • EBSCOhost eBook Collection. Provides the full-text of thousands recently-published books from selected academic and commercial publishers, as well as the full-text of a large number of older works in the public domain.
  • Brill Online Books and Journals. Full text of more than 2400 e-books and 175 journals covering the a broad range of topics.

Publicly Available:

  • HathiTrust Digital Library. Offers a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world through a partnership of academic & research institutions. Largely consists of older items of historical and scholarly significance.
  • Project Gutenberg. Over 56,000 free eBooks, including free epub books and free kindle books. Strives to include the world's great literature, especially older works for which copyright has expired.
  • Google Books. Find the bibliographic information of thousands of books, including the library collections of the University of Michigan, Harvard, Stanford, New York Public Library and Oxford Universities, with the option to buy, borrow, or download the book, depending on its copyright status.

Need Help?

  Call us at 734-764-9324

text message icon Text us at 734-329-5606

twitter bird icon Tweet @ us!

  Email us at askalawlibrarian@umich.edu. Emails are answered by Librarians during standard business hours, Monday-Friday. Patrons may expect a response within 1-2 business days for most emails.

  Consult with us. Schedule an appointment to meet with a Reference Librarian.

  Visit us at the Information Desk on Sub-1 for immediate in-person assistance. Open 8 am - midnight, Sunday-Thursday, and 8am - 10pm, Friday-Saturday*

*Excluding University holidays and semester breaks--check library hours for more information. The Building and library are available to law school community ONLY after 6 pm, and are closed to all but law school community on home football Saturdays.