Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Due to the current public health crisis, building access, book delivery, and loan rules are all subject to changes. Please see the Law Library website
and the University Library website
for current information.
The University of Michigan Library collects recent issues (usually the last few months) of some newspapers in print.
- Visit Serials and Microforms North Hatcher Room 203 to read recent paper issues.
- Search for a particular newspaper by title in the U-M Library Catalog.
- The University Library maintains microform collections for older editions of some newspapers.
The Law Library does not maintain any print newspaper subscriptions.
Some databases provide access to recent issues of many different news sources, while other databases provide more comprehensive access to particular news sources. To determine whether there is digital access to a specific newspaper, search for the title of the newspaper in the MLaw Catalog or in U-M Library Search.
Here are some major sources of news online:
- Nexis Uni includes full text of over 13,000 newspapers and magazines around the world from 1980 to present.
- Factiva is a searchable database offering full-text articles from over 6,000 trade publications, newspapers, newswires, and magazines, as well as company and industry financial data and news stories. It is one of the few sources that includes access to the Wall Street Journal.
- Access World News (of NewsBank) is a searchable database of over 9,000 sources from over 164 countries, including print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos.
- PressReader provides full-page, current access to thousands of newspapers from around the world.
- ProQuest News and Current Events provides access to several news databases from ProQuest, which include business news, historical newspapers, ethnic and alternative newspapers.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers gives full-text searchable access to the complete backfiles of eleven U.S. and two U.K. newspapers.
This Research Guide on News Sources provides links and guidance for news sources available through the University Library.
The University does not provide access to the web version of Washington Post. However, most articles and blog posts are available via Factiva. To access articles on Factiva follow the steps below:
- Click this link: https://apps.lib.umich.edu/database/link/8167
- In Source search box enter Washington Post. (This step is optional but will cut down on search results. New York Times is also available.)
- Paste article title in search box and click search button.
- Select relevant article.
New York Times
- Digital Sources
- ProQuest Research Library offers full-text (not PDF) editions from June 1, 1980-present date.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers database includes editions from 1857-2014.
- ProQuest Recent Newspapers includes PDF images of issues from 2008-recent. A 3-month embargo means the most recent three months of issues are not available.
- Students may access the electronic version of the NYT at http://accessnyt.com/. Search for and select University of Michigan Ann Arbor, and you will be directed to the registration page. Click "Create Account" and complete fields; you must use your @umich.edu email. You may also sign in to an existing account, but only if it is your @umich.edu email. For more information, go to https://www.csg.umich.edu/subscriptions.
- See Factiva Help, above.
- Physical Sources
- The Law Library's New York Times Microfilm collection covers September 1967 and January 1968 - December 2005.
- Hatcher Graduate Library keeps current print issues in North Hatcher Room 203 until they receive that issue on microfilm. The Grad's New York Times Microfilm collection spans 1851-recent, though the collection is incomplete. See above links to research historical issues.
- Shapiro Undergraduate Library keeps only the latest print issue.
Wall Street Journal
- Digital Sources
- Physical Sources
Los Angeles Times
Chronicle of Higher Education
- Create an account to access the web version.
- Click on the following catalog link: https://search.lib.umich.edu/catalog/record/000597694
- Click on the drop-down in the catalog record that says available online.
- Click on the link that says "Show All 14"
- Click on the link "Available online" corresponding to the resources titled "Access to the Chronicle of Higher Education online version restricted; authentication may be required:"
- This will bring you to the online version of the resource.
- Click on "Login in" in the upper right-hand corner oo the webpage.
- Click on "Create Account" and following the instructions and make sure that you use your umich email and select the University of Michigan - Ann Arbor when filling out the account form
- Confirm email address
Harvard Business Review
- The HBR is available from the database Business Source Complete. To access this resource click here.
Call us at 734-764-9324
Text us at 734-329-5606
Tweet @ us!
Email us at firstname.lastname@example.org. Emails are answered by Librarians during standard business hours, Monday-Friday. Patrons may expect a response within 1-2 business days for most emails.
Consult with us. Schedule an appointment to meet with a Reference Librarian.
Visit us at the Information Desk on Sub-1 for immediate in-person assistance. Open 8 am - midnight, Sunday-Thursday, and 8am - 10pm, Friday-Saturday*
*Excluding University holidays and semester breaks--check library hours for more information. The Building and library are available to law school community ONLY after 6 pm, and are closed to all but law school community on home football Saturdays.