Google Scholar
Allows users to search and read published opinions of U.S. state appellate and supreme court cases since 1950; U.S. federal district, appellate, tax and bankruptcy court cases since 1923; and U.S. Supreme Court cases since 1791.
Legal Information Institute
Provides a searchable archive of federal court opinions, including U.S. Supreme Court opinions from 1990-present. Also includes a collection of 631 historic Supreme Court decisions.
U.S. Supreme Court
Includes Court rules, slip opinions for the current term, PDF copies of the bound United States Reports back to 1991, and "sliplist" advance sheets (with links to opinions) for previous terms not yet published in a bound volume.
Court Locator
The Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts provides links to all available court websites. Many courts provide at least some of their opinions online for free.
Federal Court Locator
This site, from the Villanova University School of Law, provides links to sites that contain recent opinions from federal courts.
Findlaw
Has a searchable database of U.S. Supreme Court opinions, and a Case Summary search for lower court opinions since 2000.
Google Scholar
Allows users to search and read published opinions of U.S. state appellate and supreme court cases since 1950
National Center for State Courts
Their directory of State Court Websites provides judicial branch links for each state. Opinions may be available in PDF on these sites.
Call us at 734-764-9324
Text us at 734-329-5606
Email us at askalawlibrarian@umich.edu. Emails are answered by Librarians during standard business hours, Monday-Friday. Patrons may expect a response within 1-2 business days for most emails.
Consult with us. Schedule an appointment to meet with a Reference Librarian.
Visit us at the Information Desk on Sub-1 for immediate in-person assistance. Open 8 am - midnight, Sunday-Thursday, and 8am - 10pm, Friday-Saturday*
The chat service is available to all of our patrons but is designed to meet the legal research needs of U-M students, staff, and faculty.
Chat is monitored from 1-6 pm Monday-Wednesday and 1-5 pm Thursday-Friday on days when class is in session.
*Excluding University holidays and semester breaks--check library hours for more information. The Building and library are available to law school community ONLY after 6 pm, and are closed to all but law school community on home football Saturdays.
