Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Law School Home

Free and Low-Cost Online Legal Research : General Legal Research Sites

General Legal Research Sites

Google Scholar
Allows users to search and read published opinions of U.S. state appellate and supreme court cases since 1950; U.S. federal district, appellate, tax and bankruptcy court cases since 1923; and U.S. Supreme Court cases since 1791. Includes journal and conference papers and scholarly articles available anywhere on the Internet. Also searches university digital repositories.

Legal Information Institute
Provides no-cost access to many U.S. primary federal legal sources, including the U.S. Code, U.S. Supreme Court opinions, the Uniform Commercial Code, the Code of Federal Regulations, the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, the Federal Rules of Evidence, the Federal Rules of Bankruptcy Procedure. LII's collection of state legal materials includes Internet-accessible sources of constitutions, statues, judicial opinions, and regulations. 

Public Library of Law (PLoL)
Provides free access to all state supreme court and appellate court cases since 1997; statutes, constitutions, and court rules from all 50 states; regulations and administrative codes from selected states; all U.S. Supreme Court cases; cases from all federal circuit courts from 1950-present; the U.S. Code; the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations; and Federal Court Rules. 

Hieros Gamos
This gateway/portal site provides an organized arrangement of links to legal and law-related sources and materials. This site is organized in a directory format, and also includes government information.

Justia
Provides free case law, codes, regulations, dockets, forms, and other legal information. 

Findlaw
Provides information on several legal subjects. Forms are available for purchase. 

Free Legal Research Sites
This large listing of free legal research sites is maintained by the Antonin Scalia Law School Library.

 

Need Help?

  Call us at 734-764-9324

text message icon Text us at 734-329-5606

twitter bird icon Tweet @ us!

  Email us at askalawlibrarian@umich.edu. Emails are answered by Librarians during standard business hours, Monday-Friday. Patrons may expect a response within 1-2 business days for most emails.

  Consult with us. Schedule an appointment to meet with a Reference Librarian.

  Visit us at the Information Desk on Sub-1 for immediate in-person assistance. Open 8 am - midnight, Sunday-Thursday, and 8am - 10pm, Friday-Saturday*

*Excluding University holidays and semester breaks--check library hours for more information. The Building and library are available to law school community ONLY after 6 pm, and are closed to all but law school community on home football Saturdays.