Digests / Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Research Guides & Bibliographies
Foreign International Treaties. The most important of series that publish treaties of various countries are:
1. League of Nations Treaty Series (LNTS) 1920-1946. LNTS contains treaties registered with the League of Nations between League of Nations members or between League members and non-members.
2. United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS) 1946- .This is a continuation of the League of Nations Treaty Series (LNTS). UNTS publishes all treaties registered with the United Nations or filed by non-member states or international organizations. Treaties appear in their original languages and in English and French translations. Cumulative indexes, covering 50-100 volumes each, consist of three sections: chronological index, general international agreements index and an alphabetical country and subject index. Although UNTS is the most comprehensive treaty collection, the time lag of its publication is six to eight years.
3. United Nations Treaty Collection. This online collection includes 10 categories of treaty-related data, including Status of Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General, Full-text treaties via the United Nations Treaty Series (1946 -), and Texts of Recently Deposited Multilateral Treaties.
4. Organization of American States Treaty Series. (Classified separately. Check MLaw under the name of the treaty.) The OAS Treaty Series supersedes the Pan American Treaty Series. It includes multilateral treaties concluded among countries of the Western Hemisphere.
5. European Treaty Series. 1950- . Includes treaties among the members of the Council of Europe.
6. European Conventions and Agreements. Published by the Council of Europe, this invaluable compilation is published in three volumes. Volume I, 1949-1961; Volume II, 1961-1970 with index volume; Volume III, 1972-1974.
7. Consolidated Treaty Series. Includes treaties from 1648-1919 (until League of Nations Treaty Series begins). Arranged chronologically, in French or English translation (summary is provided if no translation is available). A five-volume index guide.
Call us at 734-764-9324
Text us at 734-329-5606
Email us at askalawlibrarian@umich.edu. Emails are answered by Librarians during standard business hours, Monday-Friday. Patrons may expect a response within 1-2 business days for most emails.
Consult with us. Schedule an appointment to meet with a Reference Librarian.
Visit us at the Information Desk on Sub-1 for immediate in-person assistance. Open 8 am - midnight, Sunday-Thursday, and 8am - 10pm, Friday-Saturday*
The chat service is available to all of our patrons but is designed to meet the legal research needs of U-M students, staff, and faculty.
Chat is monitored from 1-6 pm Monday-Wednesday and 1-5 pm Thursday-Friday on days when class is in session.
*Excluding University holidays and semester breaks--check library hours for more information. The Building and library are available to law school community ONLY after 6 pm, and are closed to all but law school community on home football Saturdays.
