Skip to main content

Law School Home

How to Research Judicial Clerkships: OCP Resources

Start Strong with the Office of Career Planning

From deciding whether a clerkship is right for you to nailing an interview, the Office of Career Planning is here at every step of your clerkship process.

Your Clerkship Homepage

Did you know that more than 75 MLaw graduates have gone on to clerk for the United States Supreme Court? The OCP page on Judicial Clerkships includes resources for clerkship applications, information on clerkship counseling, data on MLaw alumni who have gone on to clerkships, and much more.

MLaw Lawclerks Listserv

Never miss important clerkship openings and other news by subscribing to the MLaw Lawclerks Listserv. This weekly email is sent out by OCP and contains all the federal and state court clerkship openings they can find on the web that are not otherwise listed on OSCAR. In addition to job openings, this email also contains updates and announcements relevant to clerkships, so email clerkships@umich.edu to be added to the listserv.

Judicial Clerkship Database

Michigan Law's Judicial Clerkship Database is the only resource that links information about judges all over the country with the experiences of MLaw clerks who have worked in their chambers. The database allows student and alumni users to search by judge name, judge ID number, court name, city, and state. Each judge's entry includes a list of past MLaw clerks and the real feedback of clerks responding to questions like "What is the daily routine in chambers?" and "How does your judge evaluate clerkship candidates?"

Interview and Clerkship Feedback Forms

In the Office of Career Planning, MLaw students may access binders that contain interview and clerkship feedback forms that predate the creation of the Judicial Database (i.e., pre-2004). 

Get Personalized Help from OCP

Make an appointment or visit during office hours with Greta Trakul, Judicial Clerkship Advisor, for guidance on the clerkship process from start to finish.

Need Help?

This guide was created and updated by Michigan Law Reference Librarians.

 
 

  Call us at 734-764-9324

  Email us at askalawlibrarian@umich.edu. Emails are answered by Librarians between 8AM and 5PM, Monday-Friday

  Consult with us. Schedule an appointment to meet with a Reference Librarian.

  Visit us at the Reference Desk on Sub-1 for immediate in-person assistance.