Skip to Main Content

Law School Home

Citation & Research Manager Guide: Comparative Chart

This guide provides a basic overview of the leading citation manager products available through the University Michigan/MLaw or at no-cost. Each product's website contains additional information and tutorials.

Product Comparisons

PRODUCT

 REFWORKS

ZOTERO

ENDNOTE

 MENDELEY

EVERNOTE

JURIS-M

POWERNOTES

BEST USES

Organizing research,  collecting references from different sources, collaborating on projects, and generating citations

Organizing research,  collecting references from different sources, collaborating on projects, and generating citations (best for law-related research)

Notetaking, collecting web resources and organizing references, generating bibliographies

Bibliographies/Citation, collaboration especially sharing research with other researchers on Mendeley

Annotating documents or creating annotated notes, not recommended for generating citations or bibliographies

Collection references and generating bibliographies, generating citations

Group projects, notetaking and annotating (especially in databases like Westlaw and Lexis), creating outlines

COST

Free, through University's license.

*University's subscription will end 12/31/18. Review this guide for more information.

Free, some costs associated with upgrading storage space

Free at basic level (limited features, online only)

  • Different pricing options for full version:
  • $113-$249 perpetual access licenses
  • Free trials available

Free

Free at basic level, higher level plans priced from $34.99-69.99 /year

Free

Free at basic level, expanded features require paid subscription priced from $49.99 /year or $4.99 /month

BLUEBOOK STYLE AVAILABLE?

Yes

Yes, with plugin

Yes, with plugin

Yes

No

No, styling based on The Indigo Book (alternative to The Bluebook, based on the same uniform system of citation)

No

WEB PLUGIN

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes, also available on mobile devices

Yes, same as Zotero

Yes

SUPPORTED BROWSERS

Google ChromeSafariInternet ExplorerFirefox

Google Chrome  Safari  Firefox

Can be used with any browser, no plugin required

Google ChromeSafariInternet ExplorerFirefox

+ and more

Firefox

Account can be accessed on any browser, but the plugin is currently only available for Firefox

Google Chrome  Firefox   

Google Chrome

WORD ADD-ON?

Yes

Yes

Yes

Yes

No

Yes

No

COLLABORATION

Share folders and individual resources
  • Share folders and resources
     
  • Create public or private groups, invite members
     
  • Sync libraries with other users
  • Create groups and share references
     
  • Ability to change editing and viewing permissions
     
  • Merging libraries with other user's libraries
     
  • Sharing requires all users have EndNote account
     
  • Attached items cannot be shared with others, only references
  • Create groups and share documents within your network
     
  • Invite group members, ability to change editing/viewing permissions
     
  • Post status updates on your account for other collaborators to see
     
  • Post comments and start discussions with group members
  • Share notes and notebooks
     
  • Invite other editors

See Zotero - Collaboration

None through the online application, however, users can download projects to share