Skip to main content

Law School Home

Library Resources for Michigan Law Students: Legal Databases and other E-Resources

Legal Resources at Your Fingertips

The Law Library is the epicenter of legal research for Michigan Law. Our team of librarians and staff work to ensure that MLaw students have access to today's best legal research resources, including an ever-increasing number of electronic resources.

So Many Databases, Just For You

Westlaw, Lexis, and Bloomberg Law

While you are a student at Michigan Law, you have access to the commercial legal databases Westlaw, Lexis Advance, and Bloomberg Law. While each of these databases include U.S. state and federal case law, statutes, and regulations, they each offer their own unique selection of secondary sources (like treatises and law journal articles), helpful tools (like case citators and data analysis), and additional material (like public records or court dockets).

Be sure to become familiar with each database--you never know what you'll need to use when you break out into legal practice.

Powerhouse Legal Databases

In addition to the Big Three, the Law Library provides access to many more databases you will return to again and again for your legal research. Some of the major ones are the following:

  • HeinOnline is an invaluable source of law journal articles, historical federal statutes and regulations, and international research material.
  • ProQuest Congressional is the place to find federal legislative history documents, from 18th century Annals of Congress to last month's hearing transcripts.
  • Cheetah is where you look when business and law intersect, with materials on antitrust, corporate and securities, banking, intellectual property, and tax law.
  • RIA Checkpoint is a full-text database of federal, state, and some international primary tax materials, as well as a number of important secondary tax research sources.

Take the Library Everywhere with Ebooks

The Law Library provides access to thousands of electronic titles, in addition to the print titles in our collection. You can find ebooks by searching the Law Library catalog or browsing one of dozens of ebook collections, like the following:

  • West Study Aids has over 500 titles from West, Foundation, and Gilbert publishers, including Hornbooks, Nutshells, Gilbert Law Summaries, Black Letter, and Law Stories, just for MLaw students.
  • Oxford Reference Library: Law. This fully indexed, cross-searchable database has dictionaries, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press on the subject of Law.

Browse Relevant E-Resources

The Law Library catalog links to hundreds of electronic resources spanning dozens of topics and jurisdictions. Want to see what we have about treaties? Commercial law? France? Browse e-resources by Category, Subject, or Jurisdiction to see these resources at a glance.

Browse E-resources Screen

Did You Know?

Go Underground logoBloomberg Law provides access to the same federal docket filings as PACER, without needing your credit card information!

Get to the E-resources page from the Law Library homepage.

Law Library Homepage - E-Resources

Need Help?

This guide was created and updated by Michigan Law Reference Librarians.

 
 

  Call us at 734-764-9324

text message icon Text us at 734-329-5606

twitter bird icon Tweet @ us!

  Email us at askalawlibrarian@umich.edu. Emails are answered by Librarians between 8AM and 6PM, Monday-Friday

  Consult with us. Schedule an appointment to meet with a Reference Librarian.

  Visit us at the Reference Desk on Sub-1 for immediate in-person assistance.