Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Law School Home

Legal Research Resources for the Public: Catalogs, Computers, and other Resources

Using Library Resources

Below you will find an explanation of the different catalogs in which you can search for resources, a description of the different computer terminals available for public use, and how to find information on printing, scanning, and making copies in the library.

The library may have restricted hours and building access during the COVID-19 Pandemic. Please check our main website for the most up-to-date information about our visitor access policy, building hours, and public health requirements for using the space

Library Catalogs

University of Michigan Library Catalogs are linked under the "Catalogs" tab on the Law Library homepage. Databases and many other e-resources are only accessible using computers on the University of Michigan network.

MLaw Catalog, aka Encore

The MLaw Catalog, run by Encore, allows for natural language searches. Like Google, this catalog will interpret a question or sentence to retrieve relevant materials. Results include material in the Law Library collection and available through HeinOnline.

MLaw Classic

For more precise searching, use the Classic catalog. This catalog allows for searches by author, title, keyword, call number, and other categories. If you already have an idea of what you are looking for, the Classic catalog is a valuable tool.

E-Resources

Search or browse the Law Library's E-Resources page for databases and websites. If you are looking for individual e-books, e-journals, and e-serials, use one of the MLaw Catalogs.

U-M Library Search

Library Search is the catalog of the Library of the University of Michigan. Materials not specifically related to law are more likely in Library Search than the MLaw Catalog. Physical materials found through Library Search will be located in other campus libraries. Library Search also provides access to numerous additional e-resources, including databases like JSTOR and thousands of online journals.

WorldCat

WorldCat links the catalogs of libraries all over the world in one database. If material is not found in any U-M library, search WorldCat to find the closest library where it may be found.

Kresge

Kresge Library is the library of the Stephen M. Ross School of Business at the University of Michigan. Search for business-related electronic resources in the Kresge database. Print materials related to business can be located using the University Library catalog, Library Search.

Printing, Copying, and Scanning

There are several photocopy/scan machines in the Law Library. Photocopies and printed pages cost 25¢ per black and white page and 50¢ per color page and require cash to purchase a Law Library copy card. Scans are free and documents can be scanned directly to email or a USB drive. 

For information about photocopiers and scanners in the Law Library, please visit this page.

Access to Commercial Databases

Certain legal databases are only available to members of the MLaw community. 

LexisNexis

  • Nexis Uni (fka LexisNexis Academic) is available to patrons on the Ann Arbor campus.
    • Contains legal news, law reviews, state and federal caselaw and statutes, federal regulations, and general, medical, and business news and information.
    • Includes access to Shepard's Citations service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789.
  • Lexis+ is only available to MLaw students and faculty.

Westlaw 

  • Only available to MLaw students and faculty.

Access legal databases and other electronic resources through the Library's E-Resources page.

Public Computer Terminals

The Smith underground library has several computers available for public use.

Note that none of these computers have word processing software (like Microsoft Word). Google Docs is a free, web-based alternative for those with a Google account. Go to doc.new to create a new document.

Catalog Terminals

Each sub-level has one terminal dedicated to searching the Library catalogs.