Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Law School Home

Environmental and Natural Resources Law: Journals & Article Indexes

United States environmental law research involves federal and state statutes, administrative materials, cases and non-law materials. This research guide focuses primarily on federal environmental research.

Guide Outline

Home

  • Getting Started
  • Administrative Materials
  • Lexis & Westlaw

Treatises & Looseleaf Services

Journals & Article Indexes

  • Current Awareness Services
  • General Information
  • Relevant law Journals

Primary Materials

  • Federal Laws
  • Proposed & Pending Legislation
  • Proposed Rules & Regulations

Legislative History & Case Law

  • Federal Case Law

General Information

A number of journals focus specifically on environmental issues. To find these journals (print or electronic versions), search by keyword or subject in the Law Library Catalog. 

Some subjects to try are:

  • Environmental Law – United States – Periodicals

  • Natural Resources – United States – Law and Legislation

The library subscribes to legal journal indexes which enable you to find citations to relevant articles by subject, title, keyword or author. Look for the subject or thesaurus listing within each database to locate relevant subjects.

You may also search for journal articles using Westlaw or Lexis. Keep in mind that journal coverage on Westlaw (JLR database) and Lexis (Law Reviews and Journals) often do not include the full run of volumes for any given title. HeinOnline (Law Journal Library) offers PDF versions of law review and legal journals. Hein’s coverage starts with volume 1 and coverage stops with recent volumes (there is a 1-3 year gap in recent coverage).

Current Awareness Services

For a more exhaustive list search the E-Resources page under the subject “Environmental Law."

Need Help?

  Call us at 734-764-9324

text message icon Text us at 734-329-5606

twitter bird icon Tweet @ us!

  Email us at askalawlibrarian@umich.edu. Emails are answered by Librarians during standard business hours, Monday-Friday. Patrons may expect a response within 1-2 business days for most emails.

  Consult with us. Schedule an appointment to meet with a Reference Librarian.

  Visit us at the Information Desk on Sub-1 for immediate in-person assistance. Open 8 am - midnight, Sunday-Thursday, and 8am - 10pm, Friday-Saturday*

 

The chat service is available to all of our patrons but is designed to meet the legal research needs of U-M students, staff, and faculty.

Chat is monitored from 1-7 pm Monday-Wednesday and 1-5 pm Thursday-Friday on days when class is in session.

*Excluding University holidays and semester breaks--check library hours for more information. The Building and library are available to law school community ONLY after 6 pm, and are closed to all but law school community on home football Saturdays.