US Legislative Materials & Histories: Committee Prints

Committee prints are documents prepared by individual committees or commissions; they encompass a wide range of materials, including background studies, reports, bibliographies, bill analyses, etc.

Indexed By:

1. CIS Index to Publications of the United States Congress. 1970-present
2. CIS US Congressional Committee Prints Index: From the Earliest Publications Through 1969 (covers 1833 –1969)
3. CIS US Serial Set Index (1789-1969) The Serial Set is searchable as part of Proquest Congressional. (may require authentication).

♦See the Legislative History Indexes tab for details on using these indexes. ♦

Obtaining Text:

1985-present, committee prints are available via FDSys.

1789-present reports are included in Proquest Congressional. The 1789-1969 reports are included in the digitized Serial Set and may be searched separately.

1970- present, the Law Library owns committee prints on microfiche in the CIS Microfiche Library. See the Legislative History Indexes tab for details on obtaining the fiche.

The Graduate Library and Buhr are excellent sources for committee prints that the Law Library does not own; beginning with the 16th Congress, House and Senate Documents can be found in the "Serial Set."  Use the CIS U.S. Serial Set Index to find the specific reference to the committee print that you wish to see.

Pre-1970 committee prints are acquired by the Law Library on a selective basis. You may find committee prints by checking the MLaw Catalog under "United States. Congress. House." or "United States. Congress. Senate." followed by the name of the committee.

Committee Prints dating from:

• 1985 to Current - FDSys.

• 1789 to Current - Proquest Congressional. The 1789-1969 reports included in the digitized Serial Set and may be searched separately.

• 1973 to Present - House and Senate Committee Prints in Grad Library Docs Center or in Buhr Storage Facility; paper.  The Library does not have all prints. (Paper card catalogue at the Docs Center lists which committee prints are in the Docs Center and which are in Buhr.)

• Prior to 1972 - House and Senate Committee Prints in Grad Library Stacks or (more likely) in Buhr Storage Facility; paper. Consult the paper card catalog at the Docs Center, get the call number, look up in MLaw Catalog to see if the item has been moved to Buhr, or use the U-M Library Catalog Search. Author will be "United States. Congress. House [or Senate]. [Name of Committee]." Title will be "Committee Prints."

• 1970 to Current  - CIS Microfiche Library in Law Library, or in Grad Library Docs Center; fiche.  Consult the CIS Index to Publications of the U.S. Congress to find the fiche number and year of the index.  See the Documents and Indexes tab of this guide.

• 1830-1969  (for House Committee Prints) and 1835-1969  (for Senate Committee Prints) - CIS Retro Set  in the Grad Library Docs Center; fiche.  Consult Lexis-Nexis Congressional online index to obtain CIS accession numbers (fiche numbers) for your prints, then consult a librarin at the Docs Center for assistance. (Or use the Serial Set portion of Lexis-Nexis Congressional.)

• 1953-1954  (83rd Congress) - Committee Prints and microform in the Law Library; film. (Includes prints from House Un-American Activities Committee.)

• 1925 to 1969 (69th Congress, 1st Session [no.8522] to 91st Congress, 1st Session [no.12880]) - Serial Set in Grad Library Serials; fiche.  Use indexes to serial set to find the number of the document needed, then go to Grad Serials to get the fiche.

• 1789 to about 1968 (1st Congress to 90th Conress, 2nd Session) - Serial Set and microform in Grad Library Docs Center; fiche. For 1789-1969, consult CIS US Serial Set Index to obtain number of the volume in the Serial Set.

• 1921-1997 (vols. 7916-14,393) - Serial Set in the Grad Library; paper. For 1921-1969, consult CIS US Serial Set Index to obtain the number of the volume in the Serial Set. Photocopy index page, and bring to Level 6 South of the Grad Library.  Committee prints are in the volumes marked "documents."

• 1817-1921 (vols. 1-7913) - Serial Set in Buhr; paper.  Consult CIS US Serial Set Index to obtain the number of the volume in the Serial Set. Photocopy index page, and bring to Buhr.

• 1820's-1969 - Law Library; paper.  Consult the U.S. Congressional Committee Prints Index and CIS U.S. Serial Set Index for prints prior to 1969.  (See the Documents and Indexes tab).  Search the MLaw Catalog or U-M Library Catalog Search, consult with Documents Center Librarians, or use the online Serial Set.

Links to additional Internet Resources can be found on the Internet Resources tab and on the Law Library’s Electronic Resources List.

  Call us at 734-764-9324

 Text us at 734-329-5606

 Tweet @ us!

  Email us at askalawlibrarian@umich.edu. Emails are answered by Librarians during standard business hours, Monday-Friday. Patrons may expect a response within 1-2 business days for most emails.

  Consult with us. Schedule an appointment to meet with a Reference Librarian.

  Visit us at the Information Desk on Sub-1 for immediate in-person assistance. Open 8 am - midnight, Sunday-Thursday, and 8am - 10pm, Friday-Saturday*

The chat service is available to all of our patrons but is designed to meet the legal research needs of U-M students, staff, and faculty.

Chat is monitored from 1-6 pm Monday-Wednesday and 1-5 pm Thursday-Friday on days when class is in session.

*Excluding University holidays and semester breaks--check library hours for more information. The Building and library are available to law school community ONLY after 6 pm, and are closed to all but law school community on home football Saturdays.