Generative AI: AI Tools & Resources

CoCounsel is a generative AI tool tool that provides document review, legal research, and drafting for legal professionals. It uses Westlaw's case law, statutes, and other legal resources from the platform to generate responses.

Key Features

• Research: AI-Assisted Research provides answers to legal questions with links to Westlaw authority, Search a Database to find relevant documents, Search & Summarize Practical Law resources, Claims Explorer allows you to see if there could be a potential legal claim, AI Jurisdictional Surveys, Quick Check provides relevant authorities and other useful information that your document may be missing
• Review: ask questions about uploaded documents and obtain responses with links to citations
• Summarize: obtain a summary of legal documents and create timelines that identify key moments described in those documents
• Draft: generate a wide variety of legal documents and produce questions for depositions

Access

• The MLaw Community can access CoCounsel in the top left product switcher of the Westlaw homepage, or in the top right tabs of the homepage. 

Security Information

• User content and prompts are not used to train or improve CoCounsel and associated products or LLMs, used in TR or third-party output, or stored by OpenAI or Google.
  • TR's AI third-party partners, such as OpenAI and Google, are contractually prohibited from using any customer data to train their models. Additionally, where applicable, they have established systemic controls to turn off third parties' abuse-monitoring solutions to ensure there is no human access to TR customers' data or inclusion of that data in third-party models.
• All GenAI LLM requests originating from TR are processed under the identity "Thomson Reuters," never identifying the TR customer who made the request. All data is secured in transit via TLS 1.2, and symmetric encryption (AES-256) protects data at rest. All interactions with GenAI LLM providers use zero-retention API calls.
• Systematic procedures and hosting are in the U.S. TR processes all interactions with OpenAI GPT and Google Gemini in the U.S. TR hosts backup data in separate availability time zones in the U.S.
• TR has developed and implemented prompting "guardrails," ensuring their GenAI-based products will only produce responses from content drawn from a clearly defined and limited set of verified information. This practice restricts the LLM's ability to produce potentially objectionable content broadly sourced from the internet.

Other Resources

• CoCounsel Help & Support
• Artificial Intelligence

Bloomberg Law Answers is a generative AI tool integrated into the Bloomberg Law platform that provides answers to legal questions displayed within the search results. It uses the legal resources available on the Bloomberg Law platform to generate its response. 

Bloomberg Law AI Assistant is more document focused. It allows users to summarize legal documents and ask targeted legal questions about those documents. 

Key Features

• Document Analysis: ask targeted questions about specific documents within Bloomberg Law using the AI Assistant
• Summarization: generate concise summaries of legal text
• Legal Research: ask questions in the search bar to receive an AI generated response with the legal facts and links to confirm accuracy

Access

• Since these AI tools are integrated into the Bloomberg Law platform, the MLaw Community can experience these AI tools when using Bloomberg Law. Note: students and faculty will need to register here by using their umich.edu email before accessing the platform.

Security Information

• AI Training Data and Bias: Bloomberg Industry Group (INDG) employs a range of techniques to enhance the accuracy and reliability of Large Language Model (LLM) outputs. These include Retrieval-Augmented Generation (RAG), which limits the scope of LLMs to INDG-specific content, as well as fine-tuning and guardrails that help ensure outputs are derived from verified data. While these measures improve precision, INDG advises users to validate responses generated by LLMs for accuracy.
• Importantly, INDG does not use customer data to train any AI models, nor does it permit externally hosted commercial LLMs to be trained with customer data. Contractual terms are in place with LLM providers to prohibit the training of LLMs on customer data, safeguarding privacy and data integrity
• AI Security: INDG employs industry-standard security controls such as encryption, access controls, intrusion detection systems, prompt injection controls, anonymization, and guardrails for LLM responses to safeguard your data and our AI infrastructure
• AI Monitoring: To provide customers with reliable and quality results, Bloomberg Industry Group (INDG) regularly monitors and evaluates the performance of AI models deployed in INDG’s products and services using automated techniques and/or sampling the outputs through human review as appropriate for the use case. INDG uses a variety of methods to improve the accuracy of LLM outputs, including Retrieval-Augmented Generation (RAG) to limit the use of LLMs to INDG content, fine-tuning, and guardrails to increase accuracy and help ensure outputs are based on real data. Notwithstanding the preceding, INDG recommends that users validate responses received from LLMs.
• AI Risk Management: Bloomberg Industry Group (INDG) applies a robust AI Risk Management framework across all products to ensure a responsible and secure deployment of AI technologies. This framework includes an Organizational Policy on AI, which outlines best practices and compliance standards for AI usage and is supported by strong Security Controls to protect data integrity and privacy. Before any AI or Large Language Model (LLM) system is deployed, it must pass through a thorough a thorough review conducted by a dedicated Use-Case Review Committee. This committee, composed of cross-functional professionals, rigorously evaluates each AI use case to identify and mitigate potential security risks, data privacy issues, and ethical considerations. This multi-layered approach reinforces our commitment to the responsible, secure, and ethical use of AI.
• AI Governance: The specific AI solutions and models employed by Bloomberg Industry Group (INDG) may vary by feature and are subject to change as technology evolves. INDG leverages an ecosystem that includes traditional machine learning models, advanced commercial large language models, and fine-tuned open-source language models to enhance the quality and functionality of our products and services. We leverage AI-driven features including machine learning (ML), natural language processing (NLP), information retrieval (IR), recommendation systems, and large language models (LLMs) to efficiently process and organize vast amounts of information. Our AI technology focuses on four key areas: Extraction, Search, Summarization and Syntax generation. Many of the features that you will get to experience within INDG leverage Large Language Models (“LLMs”) to understand user inquiries and generate responses. Such LLMs may be hosted by Bloomberg Industry Group or third parties, but in all events, INDG does not use any customer data to train AI models, safeguarding user privacy and confidentiality. For more information about BLAW product click here: https://pro.bloomberglaw.com/about/our-approach-to-ai/
• Additionally, a dedicated committee is in place to oversee, approve, and periodically review all AI and large language model (LLM) initiatives to ensure they align with our governance standards, ethical guidelines, and strategic objectives.

Other Resources

• AI Product Help & Walkthrough
• Bloomberg Law AI Tools Launch Article
• AI in our Products
• AI For Legal Professionals

Gemini is a suite of AI tools and models from Google. Google Gemini is also a chatbot (formerly known as Bard) that can assist with drafting documents, answering questions, generating original content, and more.

*University of Michigan faculty, staff, and students have access to Gemini. Read about access & privacy/security information here.

Deep Research

AI Tools for Business

FAQs

Introducing Gemini: our largest and most capable AI model

Source: Youtube Google -  May 14, 2024

NotebookLM uses Google's Gemini models to assist you with research, writing, and note-taking. Upload your own materials and then the AI-powered tool allows you to ask questions and interact with those materials to produce summaries, audio overviews, and synthesize large amounts of data. 

*University of Michigan faculty, staff, and students have access to Gemini. Read about access & privacy/security information here.

Learn about NotebookLM

Create a Notebook

Generate Audio Overview

Source: YouTube Google - April 29, 2025

Source: YouTube Google - October 14, 2024

Rhetoric's Cicero Tool

Hone your oral arguments, cold call responses, and interview skills with Rhetoric's Cicero. This AI-powered tool offers objective, data-driven analysis of your oral responses to identify patterns and areas for improvement. Elevate your oral advocacy and persuade with confidence with Cicero.

*MLaw Community access. All students, faculty, and staff will receive a welcome email from support@userhetoric.com with login instructions. If you have questions or need access, please email cschaude@umich.edu.

Link to Student Training Session.

Security Information

Help Center & Video Tutorials

Research & White Paper

Curious about all of the legal technology tools available? Check out LegaltechHub, a comprehensive directory of legal technology (including GenAI and Agentic AI tools) and articles providing insights into trends, innovations, and best practices in the legal field.

*MLaw Community access. All students, faculty, and staff should click the link above and use their umich email & password to sign in. After this initial sign-in, use the Single Sign-On button on the Sign-In page to access. If you have any questions or experience issues gaining access, please email cschaude@umich.edu.

Deep Research is an agentic AI tool that can complete multi-step, complex research tasks. What would take a human hours to complete, Deep Research generates that content in minutes. It processes vast amounts of information from multiple online resources to generate comprehensive reports. This is a significant step toward the development of artificial general intelligence (AGI).

Key Features

From the website:

"Deep research is OpenAI's next agent that can do work for you independently—you give it a prompt, and ChatGPT will find, analyze, and synthesize hundreds of online sources to create a comprehensive report at the level of a research analyst. Powered by a version of the upcoming OpenAI o3 model that’s optimized for web browsing and data analysis, it leverages reasoning to search, interpret, and analyze massive amounts of text, images, and PDFs on the internet, pivoting as needed in reaction to information it encounters.

The ability to synthesize knowledge is a prerequisite for creating new knowledge. For this reason, deep research marks a significant step toward our broader goal of developing AGI, which we have long envisioned as capable of producing novel scientific research."

Access

• Contact cschaude@umich.edu with questions

Deep Research Reviews

Today’s Experiment with OpenAI’s Deep Research: Picking the Best Cloud-Based Law Practice Management Software for a Small Law Firm (Feb 2025) - Bob Ambrogi, LawSites

What Is OpenAI’s Powerful New Deep Research Tool Capable Of? I Use It to Analyze the Legality of President Trump’s Pause of Federal Grants (Feb 2025) - Bob Ambrogi, LawSites

We Tried OpenAI’s New Deep Research—Here’s What We Found (Feb 2025) - Every

I tested ChatGPT’s deep research with the most misunderstood law on the internet: It got the facts right but the story wrong (Feb 2025) - The Verge

Hands on with Deep Research (Feb 2025) - Leon Furze Blog

OpenAI’s Deep Research: In-Depth Reports at Your Fingertips (Feb 2025) - Clio Blog

I tried Deep Research on ChatGPT, and it’s like a super smart but slightly absent-minded librarian from a children’s book (Mar 2025) - Tech Radar

Please email us with suggestions on AI tools or other legal technology the Library should look into obtaining for the MLaw Community.