Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Law School Home

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Collection

This guide highlights print and electronic materials available in the Law Library's Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Collection.

The Purpose of this Collection

The Michigan Law Library views our commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion as central to our mission as an educational institution. We seek to ensure that each member of our community has full opportunity to thrive in our environment. We believe that diversity is key to individual flourishing, educational excellence, and the advancement of knowledge, and we maintain a deep commitment to fostering a diverse community in which all students, staff, and faculty learn and work in an atmosphere of inclusion, respect, and belonging.

We intend the DEI Collection to educate and inform, facilitate dialog, and spark engagement to create a diverse, equitable, and inclusive law school community and educational experience. 

Collection Content

The DEI Collection is not intended to be a comprehensive bibliography of diversity, equity, and inclusion topics. This collection contains resources that represent diverse perspectives on societal problems. Most of the materials may consider these issues through the lens of the United States, and we acknowledge that other perspectives exist.

This collection is organized around the principles of diversity, equity, and inclusion, as defined by the Law School and University. These are broad, overlapping principles which include but are not limited to the following topics:

  • Ability, Disability, and Ableism
  • Activism
  • Age, Aging, and Ageism
  • Country of Origin, Immigration, and Nativism
  • DEI in Higher Education and Other Institutions
  • Faith, Religious Identity, Secular Worldview, and Sectarianism
  • General DEI Resources
  • Incarceration
  • Indigenous Peoples
  • Intersectionality
  • LGBTQIA+ and Heterosexism
  • Mental and Physical Health
  • Race, Ethnicity, and Racism
  • Sex, Gender, Gender Identity, and Gender Discrimination
  • Socioeconomic Status and Classism
  • Veterans, the Military Experience, and Anti-Military Bias

We have also highlighted certain titles in our Avern Cohn Collection. These titles represent diverse voices, stories, and issues. They are also located in the Reading Alcove on Sub-1 and are available to checkout and take home to read.

Need Help?

  Call us at 734-764-9324

text message icon Text us at 734-329-5606

twitter bird icon Tweet @ us!

  Email us at askalawlibrarian@umich.edu. Emails are answered by Librarians during standard business hours, Monday-Friday. Patrons may expect a response within 1-2 business days for most emails.

  Consult with us. Schedule an appointment to meet with a Reference Librarian.

  Visit us at the Information Desk on Sub-1 for immediate in-person assistance. Open 8 am - midnight, Sunday-Thursday, and 8am - 10pm, Friday-Saturday*

 

The chat service is available to all of our patrons but is designed to meet the legal research needs of U-M students, staff, and faculty.

Chat is monitored from 1-7 pm Monday-Wednesday and 1-5 pm Thursday-Friday on days when class is in session.

*Excluding University holidays and semester breaks--check library hours for more information. The Building and library are available to law school community ONLY after 6 pm, and are closed to all but law school community on home football Saturdays.