Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Law School Home

Contemporary Practice of the United States Relating to International Law:  

A section of the American Journal of International Law, by Kristina Daugirdas and Julian Davis Mortenson (2014-2017)

Subsequent issues for 2021- can be found on the University of Virginia School of Law site here: https://libguides.law.virginia.edu/CPUS
Subsequent issues for 2018-2020 can be found on the University of Pennsylvania Law School site here: http://law.upenn.libguides.com/CPUS

Am. J. Int'l L. Vol. 111 (2017)

Issue 4 (October) - Click for Full Text

• Congress Enacts Sanctions Legislation Targeting Russia

• United States and Qatar Sign Memorandum of Understanding over Terrorism Financing

• Trump Reverses Certain Steps Toward Normalizing Relations with Cuba

• United States Announces Plans to Withdraw from Paris Agreement on Climate Change

• President Trump Issues Trade-Related Executive Orders and Memoranda

• United States, Russia, and Jordan Sign Limited Ceasefire for Syria

• Trump Administration Recertifies Iranian Compliance with JCPOA Notwithstanding Increasing Concern with Iranian Behavior

Issue 3 (July) - Click for Full Text

• Trump Administration Takes Steps to Implement Bilateral Agreement with Australia Regarding Refugees

• Trump Administration Criticizes NATO Members for Failing to Meet Defense Spending Guideline; United States Joins Other NATO Members in Supporting Montenegro’s Membership in the Organization

• President Trump Issues Executive Orders Suspending Refugee Program and Barring Entry by Individuals from Specified Countries

• Trump Administration Maintains Nuclear Deal with Iran, Despite Persistent Skepticism

• United States Strikes Syrian Government Airbase in Response to Chemical Weapons Attacks by Syrian Forces; Two Additional Strikes on Syrian Government Forces Justified by Defense of Troops Rationale

• United States Alleges Russia Continues to Violate INF Treaty

Issue 2 (April) - Click for Full Text

• United States Abstains on Security Council Resolution Criticizing Israeli Settlements

• United States Sanctions Russian Individuals and Entities After Accusing Russian Government of Using Hacking to Interfere with U.S. Election Process; Congressional Committees and Intelligence and Law Enforcement Agencies Continue to Investigate President Trump’s Connections to Russian Officials

• Second Circuit Overturns $655 Million Jury Verdict Against Palestine Liberation Organization and Palestinian Authority

• New Legislation Seeks to Confirm Immunity of Artwork and Facilitate Cultural Exchange

• United States Confronts China over Seizure of Unmanned Drone in the South China Sea

• International Criminal Court Prosecutor Recommends Investigation of Potential War Crimes in Afghanistan, Including Actions by U.S. Military and Central Intelligence Agency

• United States Strikes Houthi-Controlled Facilities in Yemen, Reaffirms Limited Support for Saudi-Led Coalition Notwithstanding Growing Concerns About Civilian Casualties

• United States Expands Military Operations in North Africa and Classifies al-Shabaab as a Force “Associated” with Al Qaeda

Issue 1 (January) - Click for Full Text

• Congress Overrides Obama’s Veto to Pass Justice Against Sponsors of Terrorism Act

• U.S. Federal Court of Appeals Upholds United Nations’ Immunity in Case Related to Cholera in Haiti

• U.S.-Russian Agreements on Syria Break Down as the Syrian Conflict Continues

• Russia Suspends Bilateral Agreement with United States on Disposal of Weapons-Grade Plutonium

• The United States Makes Payment to Family of Italian Killed in CIA Air Strike

• United States Ratifies Hague Convention on the International Recovery of Child Support and Other Forms of Family Maintenance

Am. J. Int'l L. Vol. 110 (2016)

Issue 4 (October) - Click for Full Text

• Iran and United States Continue to Implement Nuclear Deal, Although Disputes Persist

• United States Continues to Challenge Chinese Claims in South China Sea; Law of the Sea Tribunal Issues Award Against China in Philippines-China Arbitration

• U.S. Navy Report Concludes That Iran’s 2015 Capture of U.S. Sailors Violated International Law

• United States Justifies Its Use of Force in Libya Under International and National Law

• U.S. Drone Strike Kills Taliban Leader in Pakistan

• U.S. Government Releases Casualty Report, Executive Order, and Presidential Policy Guidance Related to Its Counterterrorism Strike Practices

• The Department of Defense Clarifies Legal Protections for Journalists in Updated Law of War Manual

• Federal Court of Claims Finds That Settlement Without Compensation of Foreign Nationals’ Claims Against Libya Does Not Violate Fifth Amendment

Issue 3 (July) -  Click for Full Text

• U.S. Supreme Court Upholds Law Facilitating Compensation for Victims of Iranian Terrorism

• Russia Argues Enhanced Military Presence in Europe Violates NATO-Russia Agreement; United States Criticizes Russian Military Maneuvers over the Baltic Sea as Inconsistent with Bilateral Treaty Governing Incidents at Sea

• U.S. Secretary of State Determines ISIL Is Responsible for Genocide

• United States Blocks Reappointment of WTO Appellate Body Member

• U.S. Department of Defense Releases Report of Investigation Finding That October 2015 Air Strike on Doctors Without Borders Hospital in Kunduz, Afghanistan, Was Not a War Crime

• United States Expands Air Strikes Against al-Shabaab; State Department Legal Adviser Discusses Legal Justification for Counterterrorism Operations Abroad

Issue 2 (April) - Click for Full Text

• United States Achieves Progress in Iran Relations with Nuclear Agreement Implementation, Prisoner Swap, and Hague Claims Tribunal Resolutions

• European Union and United States Conclude Agreement to Regulate Transatlantic Personal Data Transfers

• After Lengthy Delay, Congress Approves IMF Governance Reforms that Empower Emerging Market and Developing Countries

• United States Joins Consensus on Paris Climate Agreement

• United States and Eleven Other Nations Conclude Trans-Pacific Partnership

Issue 1 (January) - Click for Full Text

• United States and France Sign Agreement to Compensate Holocaust Victims

• United States Conducts Naval Operation Within Twelve Nautical Miles of Spratly Islands in the South China Sea, Prompting Protests from China

• United States Pursues Bilateral and Multilateral Initiatives in and Around the Arctic

Am. J. Int'l L. Vol. 109 (2015)

Issue 4 (October) - Click for Full Text

• Agreement on Iran Nuclear Program Goes into Effect

• United States and China Reach Agreement Regarding Economic Espionage and International Cybersecurity Norms

• United States Ratifies the International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism

• United States Reaches Agreement with Turkey on Use of Incirlik Air Base for Strikes on ISIL; “Safe Zone” Not Part of the Deal

Issue 3 (July) - Click for Full Text

• United States Adjusts Aid to Egypt in Light of Legal and Political Developments

• P51 and Iran Reach Agreement on Iranian Nuclear Program; Obama Administration Seeks Congressional Approval

• United States Authorizes New Sanctions Program Aimed at Foreign Perpetrators of Cyberattacks and Cyberexploits

• Normalization of Cuba-U.S. Relations Continues

• U.S. Navy Continues Freedom of Navigation and Overflight Missions in the South China Sea Despite China’s “Island-Building” Campaign

• U.S. Department of Justice Charges Leaders of FIFA, Affiliate Soccer Organizations, and Sports Marketing Companies in 47-Count Indictment

Issue 2 (April) - Click for Full Text

• Iran Nuclear Framework Agreement Reached; Congress Seeks to Influence Negotiation

• United States Lifts Some Cuba Restrictions and Explores the Possibility of Normalizing Relations

• United States Responds to Alleged North Korean Cyber Attack on Sony Pictures Entertainment

• Senate Select Committee on Intelligence Releases Executive Summary of Its Study of CIA’s Detention and Interrogation Program

• President Obama Seeks Statutory Authorization for the Use of Military Force Against ISIL

Issue 1 (January) - Click for Full Text

• United States Objects to Russia’s Continued Violations of Ukraine’s Territorial Sovereignty, Including by Convoys Purporting to Provide Humanitarian Aid

• United States and Afghanistan Sign Bilateral Security Agreement

• United States Announces “Changes and Confirmations” in Its Interpretation of the UNConvention Against Torture

• United States and China Make Joint Announcement to Reduce Greenhouse Gas Emissions, Bolstering Multilateral Climate Change Negotiations

• United States Deepens Its Engagement with ISIL Conflict

• NATO Affirms that Cyber Attacks May Trigger Collective Defense Obligations

Am. J. Int'l L. Vol. 108 (2014)

Issue 4 (October) - Click for Full Text

• United States Condemns Russia’s Use of Force in Ukraine and Attempted Annexation of Crimea

• In Wake of Espionage Revelations, United States Declines to Reach Comprehensive Intelligence Agreement with Germany

• United States Defends United Nations’ Immunity in Haitian Cholera Case

• French Bank Pleads Guilty to Criminal Violations of U.S. Sanctions Laws

• D.C. Circuit Strikes down Administrative Order Requiring Divestment by Foreign-Owned Corporation

• United States Adopts New Land Mine Policy

• United States Claims That Russia Has Violated the INF Treaty

Issue 3 (July) - Click for Full Text

United States Negotiates Prisoner Exchange to Secure Release of U.S. Soldier Held in Afghanistan

• United States Refuses to Grant Visa to Iranian UN Envoy

• Multilateral Naval Code of Conduct Aims to Prevent Unintended Conflict in Contested Areas of East and South China Seas

• Senate Approves Treaties to Regulate Fishing

• United States Indicts Chinese Military Officials for Economic Espionage

• U.S. Supreme Court Declines to Terminate Long-Running Efforts to Force Argentina to Pay Defaulted Sovereign Debt

• United States Condemns Uganda’s Antigay Law as Violating Human Rights

• President Barack Obama Certifies That U.S. Peacekeepers in Mali Are Immune from ICC Jurisdiction

• United States’ Legal Justification for Drone Strike on Anwar al-Awlaki Released

• Asserting Self-Defense, United States Seizes Suspect in Benghazi Mission Attack

• U.S. Supreme Court Interprets Child Abduction Treaty

Issue 2 (April) - Click for Full Text

• Another Mexican National Executed in Texas in Defiance of Avena Decision

• Manhattan Arrest of Indian Consular Official Sparks Public Dispute Between the United States and India

• United States Questions Claims Based on China’s “Nine-Dash Line” in the South China Sea

• United States Takes Steps to Combat Illegal Trade in Wildlife

• U.S. Compromises Facilitate Agreement on World Trade Organization’s Bali Package; Question Remains Whether Bali Package Requires Congressional Approval

• Destruction of Syrian Chemical Arms Delayed

• Iran Nuclear Agreement Is Implemented Notwithstanding Expressions of Distrust by Iran and the U.S. Congress

Issue 1 (January) - Click for Full Text

• Progress Is Made Implementing U.S.-Russia Framework for Eliminating Syrian Chemical Weapons

• United States Advocates for Syrian Peace Conference

• United States Extends Deadline for Signing of Bilateral Security Agreement with Afghanistan

• China Announces New Air Defense Identification Zone over East China Sea, Prompting U.S. Response

• United States and Six Other States Reach Interim Agreement on Iranian Nuclear Program