Research Resources at the Michigan Law Library: Legal Databases and Websites

Use the Website Links for Proxy Access 
Most E-Resources linked through the Law Library's page can be used on- or off-campus. Off-campus users may need to login using their umich ID. Using the University or Law School VPN can also facilitate access.

Regardless, patrons must use the link on the Law Library's page to obtain access to subscription databases.

• Going straight to the site through the URL or Google often will not work.
• Find the database through the E-Resources page

Search or Browse

If you know exactly what you are looking for, search for the exact title in the Search Bar on the left side of the page.

If you don't know the name (or existence) of an e-resource, use the "Browse E-Resources by..." section on the right side of the page. There are three different lists of e-resources to browse.

• Categories: Major types of resources, like regulations, directories, or other classifications
• Subjects: Substantive legal subjects, like criminal procedure, labor relations, or Roman law
• Jurisdictions: Select the U.S. state, global region, or foreign country

Nexis Uni

Certain major legal databases, including Westlaw, Lexis+, and Bloomberg Law, are not available to patrons outside the Michigan Law community. We are unable to make exceptions.

For research into federal and state case law, statutes, and regulations, use Nexis Uni. Formerly known as "Lexis Nexis Academic," Nexis Uni is a research-focused database which boasts the same coverage of primary law as Lexis+ and allows users to Shepardize cases (i.e., make sure they are still "good law"). Nexis Uni is available to the entire University of Michigan community, as well as anyone using the University of Michigan network.

Using Nexis Uni

• To the right of the search bar menu, users can narrow their search to a particular content collection (like law reviews and journals, briefs, pleadings and motions, etc.) cases and codes, news, practice areas and topics (patent law, criminal law, etc), and other filters.
• Users can filter their case and statute searches by jurisdiction (state, federal, or both). Click "All Content Types" and narrow by "Cases and Codes." Then select the court or jurisdiction. Be sure to expand your search beyond "Previous 2 Years."
• Users can also click "Advanced Search" to create a more precise Boolean search (or terms and connectors search).
• Case opinions on Nexis Uni contain Headnotes, footnotes, and synopses just like on Lexis+.
• To Shepardize a case, refer to the left "Shepard's" sidebar on a case page. 

Electronic Journals

Electronic versions of law reviews and other journals can be found by searching the Law Library Catalog by title of journal.

Why aren't online journals among the E-Resources?

E-Resources include the databases that house online journals, like HeinOnline, ProQuest, Cambridge Core, and ESBCO. For a list of the databases that house online journals, see our E-Journals List. 

Do I have access to this database at all?
Access requirements are noted on the resource's online record, in the shaded box under the linked name. Examples of "Authorized Users" include the following:

• Any patron within the University of Michigan Network (Ann Arbor, Flint, and/or Dearborn) or Any patron within the University of Michigan Network (Ann Arbor)
  • Users must be within the U-M community or using a computer on the indicated U-M campus via ethernet.
• Any patron within the University of Michigan Law School Network
  • Users must be within the Michigan Law community or using a computer on the Law School network via ethernet.
• Password holders
  • Includes Westlaw and Lexis+.
• Unlimited
  • For public websites.

This box will also indicate whether users need to create an account to use the resource

  Call us at 734-764-9324

 Text us at 734-329-5606

 Tweet @ us!

  Email us at askalawlibrarian@umich.edu. Emails are answered by Librarians during standard business hours, Monday-Friday. Patrons may expect a response within 1-2 business days for most emails.

  Consult with us. Schedule an appointment to meet with a Reference Librarian.

  Visit us at the Information Desk on Sub-1 for immediate in-person assistance. Open 8 am - midnight, Sunday-Thursday, and 8am - 10pm, Friday-Saturday*

The chat service is available to all of our patrons but is designed to meet the legal research needs of U-M students, staff, and faculty.

Chat is monitored from 1-6 pm Monday-Wednesday and 1-5 pm Thursday-Friday on days when class is in session.

*Excluding University holidays and semester breaks--check library hours for more information. The Building and library are available to law school community ONLY after 6 pm, and are closed to all but law school community on home football Saturdays.