Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Law School Home

University of Michigan Law School Faculty Bibliography: Simes, Lewis M. (1932-1974)

Biography

undefined

Bibliography

Books

  • Handbook of the Law of Future Interests. 2nd ed. St. Paul, Minn.: West, 1966.
  • A Handbook for More Efficient Conveyancing. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Law School, 1961.
  • Model Title Standards. C. B. Taylor, co-author. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Law School, 1960.
  • The Improvement of Conveyancing by Legislation: A Treatise with Model Act. C. B. Taylor, co-author. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Law School, 1960.
  • Legislators' Handbook on Perpetuities. Chicago: American Bar Center, 1958.
  • The Law of Future Interests. 2nd ed. A. F. Smith, co-author. St. Paul, Minn.: West, 1956.
  • Cases and Materials on the Law of Fiduciary Administration. 2nd ed. W. F. Fratcher, co-author. Chicago: Callaghan, 1956.
  • Public Policy and the Dead Hand. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Law School, 1955.
  • Handbook on the Law of Future Interests. St. Paul, Minn.: West, 1951.
  • Cases and Materials on the Law of Future Interests. 2nd ed. Chicago: Callaghan, 1951.
  • Problems in Probate Law. P. E. Basye, co-author. Michigan Legal Studies. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 1946.
  • Compliance with Rules Against Perpetuities in Drafting Wills and Trust Agreements. Detroit: Detroit Trust Co., 1946.
  • Cases and Materials on Trusts and Succession. Chicago: Callaghan, 1942.
  • Cases on Fiduciary Administration. Chicago: Callaghan, 1941.
  • Cases and Materials on the Law of Future Interests. Chicago: Callaghan, 1939.
  • Cases and Materials on the Law of Fiduciary Administration. Chicago: Callaghan, 1939.
  • The Law of Future Interests. St. Paul, Minn.: West, 1936.

Book Chapters

  • "Future Interests and Restraints." In Problems in Law for Law School and Bar Examination Review. 4th ed., edited by W. A. Seavey. St. Paul, Minn.: West, 1957.
  • "Types of Future Interests and Their Characteristics." In American Law of Property: A Treatise on the Law of Property in the United States, edited by A. J. Casner. Boston: Little, Brown & Co., 1952.
  • "Historical Background of the Law of Property." In American Law of Property: A Treatise on the Law of Property in the United States, edited by A. J. Casner. Boston: Little, Brown & Co., 1952.
  • "Perpetuities and Absolute Suspension of Powers of Alienation." In Suggested Aids for Drawing Wills and Trusts: A Handbook for Lawyers. Detroit: Bankers Trust Company of Detroit, 1947.
  • "Administration of a Decedent's Estate as a Proceeding in Rem." In Problems in Probate Law. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 1946.

Journal Articles

  • "Perpetuities in California Since 1951." Hastings L.J. 18, no. 2 (1967): 247–66.
  • "Perpetuities Reform: London Proposes, Perth Disposes." U.W. Austl. L. Rev. 6, no. 1 (1963): 11–20.
  • "Restricting Land Use in California by Rights of Entry and Possibilities of Reverter." Hastings L.J. 13, no. 3 (1962): 293–309.
  • "Rights of Personal Representative to Breach Executory Contracts of Decedent." Okla. B.J. 30, no. 3 (1959): 101–10.
  • "Rights of Personal Representative to Breach Executory Contracts of Decedent." Tr. & Est. 97 (1958): 873–8.
  • "Protecting the Surviving Spouse by Restraints on the Dead Hand." U. Cin. L. Rev. 26, no. 1 (1957): 1–16.
  • "The Policy Against Perpetuities." U. Pa. L. Rev. 103, no. 6 (1955): 707–38.
  • "Transmissibility of Future Interests in Colorado." E. C. King, co-author. Rocky Mtn. L. Rev. 27,no. 1 (1954): 1–22.
  • "Model Probate Code and Probate Procedure in Louisiana." La. B.J. 1 (1954): 51–61.
  • "The Indiana Probate Code and the Model Probate Code." Ind. L.J. 29, no. 3 (1954): 341–54.
  • "Elimination of State Restrictions of the Use of Land." Proceedings, American Bar Association, Section of Real Property, Probate and Trust Law (1954): 4–12.
  • "Qualified Endorsement." Proceedings, American Bar Association, Section of Real Property, Probate and Trust Law (1953): 87–92.
  • "Is the Rule Against Perpetuities Doomed? The 'Wait and See' Doctrine." Mich. L. Rev. 52, no. 2 (1953): 179–94.
  • "Important Differences between American and English Property Law." Temp. L.Q. 27 (1953): 45–61.
  • "Ten Probate Codes." Mich. L. Rev. 50, no. 8 (1952): 1245–64.
  • "Model Probate Code--Comparison of Nebraska Probate Law and the Model Probate Code." Neb. L. Rev. 30, no. 2 (1951): 208–23.
  • "Model Probate Code and Wisconsin Probate Laws." Wis. L. Rev. 1948, no. 4 (1948): 433–48.
  • "Improving Probate Procedure." Tr. & Est. 87 (1948): 277–83.
  • "Trusts and Estates--Trends in the Law: 1941-1945." Mich. L. Rev. 44, no. 5 (1946): 833–45.
  • "The Model Probate Code--An Achievement in Cooperative Research." Case & Comment 51 (1946): 58–64.
  • "The Function of Will Contests." Mich. L. Rev. 44, no. 4 (1946): 503–62.
  • "Practical Problems in the Drafting of Wills." Ohio B. 18, no. 15 (1945): 144–7. (This work is a pamphlet distributed prior to two lectures which are published in Ohio B. 18, no. 15 (1945): 147-62 and 18, no. 16 (1945):168-85.)
  • "The Model Probate Code—An Achievement in Cooperative Research." J. Am. Judicature Soc'y 29, no. 3 (1945): 71–7.
  • "Administration of a Decedent's Estate as a Proceeding in Rem." Mich. L. Rev. 43, no. 4 (1945): 675–704.
  • "The Organization of the Probate Court in America." P. C. Basye, co-author. Mich. L. Rev. 42, no. 6 (1944): 965–1008; 43, no. 4 (1944): 113–54.
  • "Statutory Restrictions on the Accumulation of Income." U. Chi. L. Rev. 7, no. 3 (1940): 409–37.
  • "Fifty Years of Future Interests." Harv. L. Rev. 50, no. 5 (1937): 749–83.
  • "Effect of Impossibility upon Conditions in Wills." Mich. L. Rev. 34, no. 7 (1936): 909–36.
  • "The Meaning of 'Heirs' in Wills: A Suggestion in Legal Method." L. B. Knouff and G. E. Leonard, Jr., co-authors. Mich. L. Rev. 31, no. 3 (1933): 356–70.

Reviews

  • Review of Fraud on the Widow's Share, by W. D. Macdonald. U. Fla. L. Rev. 14, no. 1 (1961): 107.
  • Review of The Law of Trusts, 2nd ed., by A. W. Scott. Mich. L. Rev. 55, no. 8 (1957): 1209–12.
  • Review of The Rule Against Perpetuities, by J. H. C. Morris and W. B. Leach. Am. J. Comp. L. 5, no. 2 (1956): 301.
  • Review of The Law of Trusts: A Statement of the Rules of Law and Equity Applicable to Trusts of Real and Personal Property, by G. W. Keeton, and Manual of South African Trust Law, by P. Frere-Smith. Am. J. Comp. L. 4, no. 1 (1955): 115–7.
  • Review of The Rule Against Perpetuities, 4th ed., by R. Gray. Harv. L. Rev. 55, no. 8 (1942): 1398–401.
  • "Scott on Trusts: A Review." Review of The Law of Trusts, by A. W. Scott. Mich. L. Rev. 38, no. 8 (1940): 1255-65.
  • Review of Cases and Other Materials on the Law of Wills and Administration, by T. E. Atkinson and P. Mechem. Iowa L. Rev. 25, no. 1 (1939): 197–200.
  • Review of Handbook of the Law of Wills and Administration of Decendents' Estates Including Principles of Interstate Succession, by T. E. Atkinson. Mo. L. Rev. 2, no. 4 (1937): 536–7.
  • Review of Cases and Materials on Trusts and Estates, by R. R. Powell. U. Chi. L. Rev. 1, no. 5 (1934): 826–8.

Other Publications

  • "Introduction to Improvement of Conveyancing by Legislation". C. B. Taylor, co-author. Title News 39 (1960): 2–8.
  • Foreword to Retroactive Legislation Affecting Interests in Land, by J. Scurlock. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Law School, 1953.

Reprints (Articles and other publications reprinted in full and Law Quadrangle)

  • "Perpetuities and Absolute Suspension of Powers of Alienation." In Suggested Aids for Drawing Wills and Trusts: A Handbook for Lawyers. 2nd ed. Detroit: Bankers Trust Company of Detroit, 1950. (Originally published in Suggested Aids for Drawing Wills and Trusts: A Handbook for Lawyers. Detroit: Bankers Trust Company of Detroit, 1950.)