Call us at 734-764-9324
Text us at 734-329-5606
Email us at askalawlibrarian@umich.edu. Emails are answered by Librarians during standard business hours, Monday-Friday. Patrons may expect a response within 1-2 business days for most emails.
Consult with us. Schedule an appointment to meet with a Reference Librarian.
Visit us at the Information Desk on Sub-1 for immediate in-person assistance. Open 8 am - midnight, Sunday-Thursday, and 8am - 10pm, Friday-Saturday*
The chat service is available to all of our patrons but is designed to meet the legal research needs of U-M students, staff, and faculty.
Chat is monitored from 1-6 pm Monday-Wednesday and 1-5 pm Thursday-Friday on days when class is in session.
*Excluding University holidays and semester breaks--check library hours for more information. The Building and library are available to law school community ONLY after 6 pm, and are closed to all but law school community on home football Saturdays.
Checkpoint Edge is a full-text database of federal, state, and some international tax materials. It contains full text laws and regulations as well as a number of important secondary tax research sources.
Use of Checkpoint Edge is limited to the University of Michigan Network.
You can search one or more sections of Checkpoint Edge or you can browse individual areas and publications through Checkpoint Edge's hierarchical structure.
The default page when entering Checkpoint Edge is the search page. When searching, you can choose entire libraries or individual sections to search by clicking the appropriate check-boxes on the search page.
In order to browse the various libraries on Checkpoint Edge, you will need to choose "Table of Contents" in the upper right corner of the screen. When accessing the hierarchical table of contents you can show more or less detail by choosing the plus or minus signs as appropriate. You can also click on the hyperlink topics and titles to show more detail.
Guides and lessons using Checkpoint Edge are available under the "Training and Tips" tab at the top of the screen.
A subpart of Checkpoint Edge is RIA Worldwide Tax Law which includes full-text English translations of foreign tax and commercial laws that are full-text searchable and can be limited by jurisdiction. To get to this part of Checkpoint Edge choose "International" from the Practice Area drop-down menu on the left. Then click on the "RIA Tax and Commercial Law" link.
Individual secondary sources can be browsed through the hierarchical table of contents or can be searched with any other material on Checkpoint Edge.
Federal tax editorial materials available on Checkpoint Edge include:
Full-text treatises available on Checkpoint Edge include:
Full-text journals available on Checkpoint Edge include:
