Skip to main content

Law School Home

Underground Above Ground: Demos from the Past

Schedule of future demonstrations on various skills, resources, and services, as well as details and information about previously held demos.

Missed a Demo? Never Fear

If you didn't catch an Above Ground demonstration, or if you want more information about a particular demo, check out the links, handouts, and other information on past Demos here. Demonstrations are organized into Research SkillsSchool and Study Skills, and Life Skills. You can also check out what happened on Hey Days.

Research Skills

Research Methods tableResearch Methods

A research project can seem overwhelming--so many places to look, so many sources collected, so much information to keep organized. Librarians Virginia, Jessica, and Kate demonstrated some of the tips and tricks professional researchers use to get the most relevant results and save time doing it. Peruse the handout below and put some of their best ideas into practice.

How do the pros go about legal research? Learn to plan, organize, and execute your research.

Date: Monday, November 12, 2018
Time: 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Research 101

Demo Days - Research 101 table with AR and KEB

When doing legal research, Google seems fast but will just leave you spinning your wheels. Librarians Amanda, Virginia, and Kate demonstrated tried-and-true tricks for doing efficient and fruitful legal research.

 

Check out the handout and slides for their top tips, and visit the Library Guide for even more legal research guidance.

Get a jumpstart on a new project or breathe life into an old project with handy legal research tips.

Date: Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Time: 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Search the Law Library Catalog Like a Pro!

Searching the Catalog signThe Law Library has over one million titles in its collection. It's no wonder that it can be difficult to find the one book you're looking for. Librarians KC and Kate--who use the catalog extensively every day--shared their expertise with students. Demystify your searches for online journals, topical material, and recent publications with the handout and slides attached below.

Demo Days catalog searching table

Whether for your own research or to cite check like a pro, learn the catalog-searching skills that will put you over the top.

Date: Tuesday, October 23, 2018

Time: 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Demo Days Google setupGoogle Like a Pro!

Did you know you can search Google for PDFs only? Or that you can use Google like a search bar in any website? Find what you're looking for quickly by using Google's advanced search operators. Librarians Seth and Kate demonstrated a few of the most useful operators.

 

 

Check out the handout below for a list of useful commands, and go through the slides for further explanations.

Google is an incredible tool if you know how to use it. Learn tricks and tips for advanced Google searching and make Google work for you!

Date: Wednesday, October 17, 2018

Time: 10:00AM - 11:00 AM

Searching Dockets and Legal Filings

No PACER account? No problem. Librarians Sarah and Seth demonstrated how to find dockets and the court filings therein using the major commercial databases MLaw students already have access to: Bloomberg Law, Westlaw, and Lexis Advance. Check out the handout below for instructions.

Dockets have you stumped? Learn where to search for dockets and legal filings--without making a trip to the courthouse.

Date: Wednesday, October 3, 2018

Time: 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM

Loading ...

School and Study Skills

Demo Days - Research ConsultsResearch Consultations

Starting a paper? Doing research for a professor? Curious about how to make Westlaw searches better? Just want to know what information is out there? Librarians Seth, Amanda, and Jessica demonstrated how to take your research to the next level by scheduling a consultation with a reference librarian. Each Michigan Law reference librarian is also a lawyer, so you know you're getting the most out of your meeting.

Read the reference librarians' bios at the link below, and learn how to easily schedule a meeting time that fits with your schedule.

You've got questions. Line up one-on-one time with a reference librarian to get answers.

Date: Thursday, November 8, 2018
Time: 10:00am - 11:00am

Law Library Resources to Improve Your Writing Skills

Demo Days - Writing Skills

Whether you are writing a cover letter to a prospective employer, a memo for a senior partner, or a brief for a judge, your writing skills need to be on point. Librarians Virginia and Melissa demonstrated the Good Sentences guide: a tool designed for Michigan Law students to hone their writing skills through grammar instruction and quality readings. Click the link to Good Sentences below, and check out the highlighted links below for a sample of what the guide has to offer.

You're an expert reader, but how is your writing? Learn about the Law Library's Writing Reserves collection and other resources you can use to improve your writing skills. 

Date: Friday, October 26, 2018

Time: 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM

CALI Interactive Tutorials

Wellness mandala for coloringNot all study aids are books. All MLaw students can access CALI for interactive, web tutorials on dozens of legal subjects.

Librarians Sarah and Kate demonstrated the wide variety of topics and subtopics available on CALI. Each CALI lesson includes quizzes, so students can better learn tough subjects like Evidence and Contracts.

Sign up for CALI using the instructions at the link below, and take your studying to the next level.

What if we told you there was a database with short, interactive lessons on all of your course subjects? Join the law librarians for a brief demo on the many class prep and study resources provided by CALI.

Date: Thursday, October 11, 2018

Time: 2:30 PM - 3:30 PM

Seminar Paper & Note Topic Selection

Table for Topic SelectionWriting a paper for a seminar or journal note is a daunting task that starts with selecting the right topic--not too narrow, not too broad, and not written about before. Librarians Amanda and Kate talked to students about a strategy for topic selection. They laid out a three step process for selecting a topic, and invited students to explore example suggestions, sample checklists, and myriad resources to start the ball rolling on successful papers.

 

 

Check out the Law Library's guide to Choosing a Topic for Seminar Papers and Journal Notes or peruse the condensed version in the handout, below.

Choosing a topic for a journal note or seminar paper can be daunting, but you don't have to start from scratch. Come learn about selection strategies and sources of inspiration.

Date: Wednesday, September 26, 2018

Time: 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM

Study Smarter with Study Guides!
The Law Library provides access to a wide variety of study aids--print books, online guides, old exams, and more. Librarians KC and Kate exhibited a selection of print materials available and demonstrated how to find course reserves and past exams.

To learn more, check out the handout and slides below, or click over to the Law Library's guide to Exam Preparation.

There's more to studying than reviewing notes and rereading cases. Learn about the variety of study materials available through the law library.

Date: Monday, September 24, 2018

Time: 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM

Requesting Scans from the Law Library

Table for Requesting ScansThe Library will scan portions of any book in the collection (Smith, Closed Reserve, Stacks, etc) and email text-searchable PDF to a student's email inbox within 1-3 business days. Librarians Seth and Kate demonstrated the two ways to make a request:

  • For "Smith," "Stacks," or "Annex" items: "Request" button in the catalog record
  • For "Closed Reserve" or "Ref Coll" items: lawlibrequest@umich.edu email

Some students said they feel bad asking for scans, but you shouldn't! We have a dedicated scanning unit in the Library. They are good at what they do, and they work fast for you!

Check out the handout and slides to learn more!

Want to read a chapter of a library book from the comfort of your computer? Learn how to request a text-searchable scan, delivered directly to your email inbox.

Date: Tuesday, September 18, 2018

Time: 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM

Loading ...

Life Skills

Learn About the Law Library's Wellness Collection

Wellness mandala for coloringNothing compares to law school, and nothing compares to law school stress. Librarians Virginia and Jessica demonstrated some of the Law Library resources available to MLaw students to help balance the eight dimensions of personal well-being: physical, emotional/mental, environmental, financial, occupational, social, intellectual/academic, and spiritual.

Come by the Underground Library to browse the print Wellness Collection, located in the Core of Sub-2. The books in this collection can be checked out and taken home!

Wellness display table

 

 

 

 

 

The Wellness guide linked below includes law student-specific resources for each of dimension of well-being, curated by MLaw librarians. Whether you need a quick boost or want to dive into a longer read (or podcast), there is a wide variety of articles, print and e-books, and other material included.

 

 

Being a law student is tough, but the Law Library's Wellness Collection is designed to make it a little easier. Find out more about this resource made with your well-being in mind.

Date: Monday, October 8, 2018 

Time: 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM

Organize Your Life With Bullet Journaling!

Virginia and Kate at the table with bullet journalsThis demonstration exhibited the wide world of Bullet Journaling. Librarians Virginia, Amanda, and Kate use bullet journals every day, and each showed how their journals evolved over time. Additional examples--from basic outlines to artistic wonders--make it clear that your journal doesn't need to look or be organized a single way in order to be useful.

Ever wish you could put your to-do list, study schedule, and future plans all in one place? Come learn about bullet journaling and how you can use the system to organize your life.

Date: Thursday, September 13, 2018

Time: 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM

Loading ...

Hey Days: No Demos, Just Good Vibes

Halloween!

The Underground Library celebrated Halloween all day, and brought the party to the people. In addition to decorating the Subs and providing much-needed treats all day, librarians reverse trick-or-treated in Hutchins and South Hall.

Group picture - Halloween

Bat in the Subs

VN and KEB at Halloween LC and MS at Halloween

 

The Law Library is celebrating Halloween all day. Go Underground...if you dare!

Date: Wednesday, October 31, 2018

Time: 9:00 A.M. - 5 P.M.

Loading ...

Suggest a Subject

Don't see a topic you are interested in? Email us with suggestions for future Underground Above Ground demonstrations.

askalawlibrarian@umich.edu

As always, if you would like individual help with your research, using databases, or any other questions, you can schedule a one-on-one meeting with a reference librarian.