Law School Directories were published from 1941 forward and include information about alumni 1859 forward. If the person you are researching graduated before 1922, you may find additional information in the university-wide directories listed in the lower box on this page.
University of Michigan Law School
- 1860/1941 Additional owners of this volume - HathiTrust (search-only)
- 1860/1950 Additional owners of this volume - HathiTrust (search-only)
- 1859/1959 Additional owners of this volume - HathiTrust (search-only)
- 1859/1959 Additional owners of this volume
- 1859/1970 Additional owners of this volume
- 1859/1981 Additional owners of this volume - HathiTrust (search-only)
- 1859/1985 Additional owners of this volume
- 1988 (no additional owners found)
- 1992 (no additional owners found)
- 1997 (no additional owners found)
- 2002 Additional owners of this volume - Hathi Trust (search-only)
- 2007 (no additional owners found)
- If you are an alumni of the University of Michigan Law School, you can include your information in the 2012 directory
Directory of Foreign Alumni, Visiting Professors and Research Scholars and U.S. Alumni Abroad. (1982) (2 editions:) Find in a Library
University of Michigan Law School alumni, 1860-2006 : an alphabetical list compiled from the University of Michigan Law School (2007) University of Michigan Law Library
Women Law Students Association. University of Michigan Law School alumnae directory (1976) Find in a Library
International Alumni Reunion. International alumni directory (1991) Find in a library
See the box below for University of Michigan Directories that aren't limited to law classes, but do contain information on students in the Law Department or School.
University wide alumni directories are available for classes through 1921 and will often contain more information than the later law school directories. If your alumni graduated prior to 1922, you will want to check these:
University of Michigan. 1864.
A General Catalogue of the Officers and Graduates. From its organization in 1837 to 1864.
(Department of Law is on pages 38-40).
Hathi Trust – Find in a Library
University of Michigan. 1871.
Catalogue of the academic senate of the University of Michigan and of those who have received its regular and honorary degrees. Ann Arbor, University of Michigan. (Department of Law is on pages 55-66)
Google – Internet Archive -- Find in a Library – Purchase a copy
Theodore R. Chase. 1881.
The Michigan University book: 1844-1880. Detroit: Richmond, Backus.
Google -- Internet Archive -- Find in a library -- Purchase a copy
University of Michigan. 1891.
Catalogue of Officers and Students 1837-1890
Google – Internet Archive – Find in a Library -- Purchase a copy
University of Michigan. 1902.
General Catalogue of Officers and Students 1837-1901
Google – Internet Archive – Find in a Library – Purchase a copy
University of Michigan. 1911.
Catalogue of Officers and Students 1837-1911
See also Death Notices supplementary
Google – Find in a Library – See if a used copy is available
University of Michigan. 1921.
Catalogue of graduates, non graduates, officers and members of the faculty
See also death notices supplementary. [1923?]
University of Michigan. General Register
HathiTrust - Find in a Library
Call us at 734-764-9324
Text us at 734-329-5606
Email us at askalawlibrarian@umich.edu. Emails are answered by Librarians during standard business hours, Monday-Friday. Patrons may expect a response within 1-2 business days for most emails.
Consult with us. Schedule an appointment to meet with a Reference Librarian.
Visit us at the Information Desk on Sub-1 for immediate in-person assistance. Open 8 am - midnight, Sunday-Thursday, and 8am - 10pm, Friday-Saturday*
The chat service is available to all of our patrons but is designed to meet the legal research needs of U-M students, staff, and faculty.
Chat is monitored from 1-6 pm Monday-Wednesday and 1-5 pm Thursday-Friday on days when class is in session.
*Excluding University holidays and semester breaks--check library hours for more information. The Building and library are available to law school community ONLY after 6 pm, and are closed to all but law school community on home football Saturdays.
